Gallery

Newborn Care Class

Today we attended a newborn care class through Molly’s health insurance provider. Sure, we’re only at 27 weeks and 4 days, but over time Molly’s belly is only going to get larger so we figured we should do it sooner rather than later. Also, we know a couple locally who is also expecting twins around the same time as us so we went to dinner with them before showing up at the class together…late, and with frozen yogurt in our hands. I think the presenter was the same woman we had for the Early Pregnancy class…not as entertaining as the presenter for our recent Childbirth Preparation class, but this one was also from 6:30-9:00pm so it’s a tough crowd to begin with.

I don’t think Molly got much out of it, because she has lots of experience with babies and small children. But I’ve never even changed a diaper on my own, and to be honest, I’ve only held an infant once. I’m confident I’ll learn quickly on the job, but it was definitely helpful to at least begin to be exposed to the basics of holding, swaddling, etc. I think we’re only signed up for one more class, on breastfeeding, and it’s in early April.

When we got home, I was tucking Molly into bed and Baby B got the hiccups for the first time! I’ve been hearing people talk about their babies getting the hiccups, but it hasn’t happened yet for us…until tonight! How freaking cute is that?! I seriously cannot wait to see their adorable little faces!

Leave a Reply

