Gallery

First Kicks Felt!

Last night, at 22 weeks and 5 days, I felt the first couple of kicks coming from Molly’s belly!

For that past couple of weeks, Molly has been describing what the movements of the babies feel like to her – it started out as “fluttering,” and over the past week or so has progressed to full-on kicks. She says it feels like they’re doing kick-turns, probably as they turn over and around. I’ve been anxiously waiting to be able to feel these movements from the outside, and I’ve been occasionally resting my hand on her belly, just waiting for something to happen. From Googling the question, I had resolved I probably wouldn’t feel anything until 24 weeks or so, and up until last night, I hadn’t been able to feel anything besides the pulse in my own hand. But last night, as we were watching TV and I had my hand on her belly, I felt a kick for the first time!

It felt less like a focal kick and more like a sudden, diffuse vibration. I imagine this is because they still have a lot of room to move around; as time goes on uterine real estate becomes more sparse, I suspect the diffuse vibrations will turn into more focal kicks. It came quite distinctly from the right side, meaning it was most likely from Baby A.

Another milestone! How exciting!

Leave a Reply

